Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Lover Awakened by J.R. Ward

Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 3)

Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 3) is the third in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series.  I have to admit that I just recently came upon this series and I haven't been able to put it down.  However, as much as I enjoyed the first two books:  Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 1) and Lover Eternal (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 2), I really loved this third book. 

For anyone who hasn't read the series, here's the Goodreads synopsis for the first book of the series, Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 1):

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there's a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.

The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 3) focuses on Zsadist, the hardest and most damaged member of the Black Dagger Brotherhood and credit to J.R. Ward for tackling him so early in the series.  I honestly expected to read about Zsadist much later in the series because of his dark nature and background.  However, I was extremely pleased that he came into the spotlight so early because his character intrigued me from the very first novel. 

Zsadist's journey actually begins in Lover Eternal (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 2) when he meets Bella and she is later kidnapped by Lessers.  As Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 3) begins, Bella is still missing and Zsadist is losing his mind trying to find her.  As the story progresses, Zsadist must face each of his demons in order to move forward with his life.  His story is amazingly sad and there are times when you just want to scream for him, but it's all worth it in the end.  I have to say that there were some parts of the story that I didn't enjoy at all--I won't mention what happened for anyone who hasn't read the book yet--but I do hope that those parts will serve some purpose as my reading of the series progresses.  As of right now, there are nine books in the series and I plan to start Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 4) right away. 


  1. I've read them all and this is still my favorite by far :D Love Zsadist!!! He's my favorite brother, and I was surprised at how much I loved Rhvenge's book (#8 in the series) when it came around. I'm so glad that you liked it! I can still remember when I found the brothers and Ward's gritty, take-no-prisoners style of writing. *Sigh* Enjoy it while you can lady b/c once you're through you'll probably be like me. Waiting on tenterhooks for the next one!
    Ninja Girl

  2. They are great! ,,,and Lover Revealed is actually my favorite and then Lover Unbound ,Butch and Vishous,love them,,crave them literally,,lol,,,,#10 is coming out in March of 2012 ,,want to know whos book thats is? *wink*
    great review..

  3. I loved this book, I read it about less than 2 weeks ago, here my review. :)
    And of the next book as well. :) If you want to have a look.

  4. This book starts of one of the best series I have ever read. If you like vampires and romance, then these are perfect. There is a great mix of drama and gore that when combined with the love and romance makes for one perfect series. I have read all but the most recent book, which i'm waiting on very impatiently (my local BN was out of them for a week or more so i ordered it). I cannot wait to read the next book.