Thursday, May 26, 2011

Alpha by Rachel Vincent

Alpha (Shifters Book 6)

Alpha (Shifters Book 6) is the final book in the Shifters series by Rachel Vincent.  The series focuses, mainly, on Faythe Sanders and her family/community of Werecat Shifters.  Stray (Shifters Book 1) introduces us to Faythe and her world--the world she's been desperately trying to escape.  Certain events draw her back into the Pride and her place in the Shifters world.  Over the course of six books, we get to know Faythe, her brothers, her parents and Marc, her first love, as well as the various other members of her father's Pride.  Faythe isn't your typical Tabby, female werecat.  Tabbies are prized and treasured and Faythe wants no part of that.  She wants to blaze her own trail and she does, making numerous mistakes and enemies along the way.  You can't help but admire her determination to break the mold and be her own woman. 

I've really enjoyed the Shifter series.  However, knowing that Alpha (Shifters Book 6) is the final book in the series, it sat on my TBR shelf for quite a while.  You see, Faythe had gotten herself into a very sticky situation in Shift (The Shifters, Book 5) and since I knew she'd have to make her decision in Alpha (Shifters Book 6), I put off reading it because I wasn't convinced I'd like the way the series ended.  However, I did finally pick it up the other day and had a very hard time putting it down. 

Faythe and her Pride are getting ready to take on the Council and it's corrupt leader.  Still reeling from the events and losses of Shift (The Shifters, Book 5), they attempt to use their wits to outsmart their enemies.  Unfortunately, their enemies are so powerful that even concrete evidence of wrong doing is brushed aside.  They have no choice but to resort to force--and they are in a weak position.  Faythe is forced to develop quickly into a leader and her unique perspective on things just might be her ace in the hole.

The entire Shifters series was very enjoyable.  The characters are strong and likable and, despite being werecats, very believable.  The series really focuses more on family and Faythe's development as a person than on a group of werecats.  Granted, the stories all involve being werecats, since the Pride is struggling against the shifter Council and the other Prides, but the heart of the stories is about love, belonging and being able to stretch your wings and grow.  Rachel Vincent created a wonderful character in Faythe, a real role model for young women looking to be their own person.  She isn't afraid to stick to her beliefs, nor is she afraid to make mistakes--and she certainly makes more than a few :)  Faythe learns and grows so much during the series, becoming a strong, independent woman not afraid to ask for help--a very likable character indeed. 

I really loved reading the Shifter series and am sorry to see it end.  If you haven't read it yet, the sequence is:  Stray (Shifters Book 1), Rogue (Shifters Book 2), Pride (Werecats, Book 3), Prey (Werecats, Book 4), Shift (The Shifters, Book 5) and finally Alpha (Shifters Book 6).  Happy reading :)

No comments:

Post a Comment